What Are the Survival Rates of Cervical Cancer by Stage?

What are the stages of cervical cancer?

  • There are 4 stages of cervical cancer:
    Stage I.
    Cancer only develops in the cervix.
  • Stage II.
    Cancer develops in the cervix and upper part of the vagina.
  • Stage III.
    Cancer has spread to the lower part of the vagina or to the side wall of pelvic.
  • Stage IV.
    Cancer has spread to nearby organs, such as the rectum or bladder, or it has spread to distant parts of the body, such as the bones, lungs, or liver.

What are the survival rates of cervical cancer by stage?

A 5-year survival rate is usually used to describe the survival rate of cervical cancer. It means that one will live at least 5 years after diagnosis. The survival rates are determined by many factors and vary from one to another. On average, the 5-year survival rates of each stages are:

  • Stage IA: 93%
    Stage IB: 80%
  • Stage IIA: 63%
    Stage IIB: 58%
  • Stage IIIA: 35%
    Stage IIIB: 32%
  • Stage IVA: 16%
    Stage IVB: 15%

Keywords: cervical cancer survival rate; cervical cancer survival rates; stages cervical cancer; cervical cancer stages; stage 3b cervical cancer prognosis; stage 4b cervical cancer prognosis

Leave a Reply