What Are the Stages of Frontal Dementia?

What are the stages of frontal dementia?

In brief, frontotemporal dementia, or FTD, is a degenerative disease that affects the front part of the brain. It is a type of dementia. So the stages of the condition can be similar to that of dementia.

Early Stage

  • signs of personality change
  • strange behaviors, such as repetitive behaviors, unusual sexual and physical behavior
  • possible weight gain from overeating
  • language problems

Intermediate Stage

  • loss of more language skills
  • obvious personality and mood changes, such as despression
  • loss of empathy and a lack of initiative
  • impaired judgment
  • change in sleep patterns
  • loss of insight into her personal conduct

Late Stage

  • disability to speak
  • loss of muscle movement
  • being unable to respond to environment

While frontotemporal dementia patient has a longer life expectancy than Alzheimer’s disease patient, death can occur from complications.


Keywords: stages frontal dementia, frontal lobe dementia end stages, frontotemporal dementia stages decline, ftd dementia

Leave a Reply