What Are the Stages of Cirrhosis?

What are the stages of cirrhosis?

Cirrhosis is a chronic progressive disease of the liver characterized by the replacement of healthy cells with scar tissue, which is caused by various diseases and conditions, such as chronic alcoholism, nonalcoholic fatty liver disease, hemochromatosis, Wilson’s disease, etc.


Cirrhosis is mainly classified into two stages:

  • Compensated stage: Patients with compensated cirrhosis have no symptoms, because there are still enough healthy liver cells to meet your body’s needs.
  • Decompensated stage: Patients with decompensated cirrhosis would need a liver transplant.

Unfortunately, the liver damage caused by cirrhosis usually can’t be reversed, so it’s critical to prevent its progression. You can take care of your liver and reduce the risk of cirrhosis by:

Stopping drinking alcohol;
– Developing a healthier diet, such as fruits, vegetables, whole grains and lean sources of protein.
– Maintaining a healthy weight. An excess amount of body fat may damage your liver.
– Reducing your risk of hepatitis by taking hepatitis vaccinations.

If have any further questions, please contact your doctor.

Key words: Cirrhosis; chronic alcoholism; nonalcoholic fatty liver disease; hemochromatosis; Wilson’s disease.

Leave a Reply