How to Classify High Blood Pressure? What are the Ranges?

Q: I had high blood pressure for almost 10 years, but I still don’t know the accurate classification of it.


Stage I hypertension: systolic pressure:140-159mmHg

Diastolic pressure:90-99mmHg

Stage II hypertension: systolic pressure: 160-179mmHg

Diastolic pressure:100-109mmHg

Stage III hypertension: systolic pressure: >=180mmHg

Diastolic pressure: >=110mmHg

In general, the ideal blood pressure is 120/80mmHg. Normal range is less than 130/85mmHg. 130-139mmHg/85-89mmHg is approximately high blood pressure, which is the highest range of normal bp. If you have stage 1 hypertension, it is just high blood pressure without any other organ disease. But if you are stage 2, you may have ventricular hypertrophy, cardiac and brain or kidney damage. The function of organ is still in compensatory state. If you have stage3 hypertension, which means that you are in emergency, you will have cerebral hemorrhage, heart failure and renal failure.


Related FAQs:

Leave a Reply